The Website of Teynham Parish Council


facebook find us

Opening Ceremony of Teynham Village Hall

Front row from left to right: Cllr Ernie Madgwick and his partner, Mrs Chris McIlroy and Lady and Lord Kingsdown.
To the right over Lord Kingsdown's shoulder: Teynham Parish Cllr Graham Winzar and Swale Borough Cllr Mrs Jean Newman.

After a 10 year fundraising campaign which raised £250,000, Teynham Village Hall was officially opened on Saturday 28th July 1996 by Lord and Lady Kingsdown.  They arrived at 3.00pm and were given a tour of the new hall before unveiling the commemorative plaque. Speeches were given by the chairman of the Teynham Village Hall Fund Raising Committee, Mrs Chris McIlroy, the Mayor of Swale Cllr Ernie Madgwick, partnership development officer at Kent County Council John Andrews and Chairman of Teynham Parish Council and vice-chairman of the fundraising committee Cllr Graham Winzar.

The vicar of Murston and Mayor's chaplain, the Rev Brian Shersby, gave a blessing. Lady Kingsdown and Mrs Chris McIlroy cut the celebratory cake.

The first official event at the hall was a Wine and Wisdom quiz night on Saturday 17th August.